EN
facebook twitter instagram youtube itunes
facebook twitter instagram youtube itunes

Biographie de Sugar Sammy


Sugar Sammy est un des humoristes les plus importants sur la scène internationale. Il a donné plus de 1600 spectacles dans 31 pays en anglais, en français, en hindi et en punjabi. 

C’est à l’automne 2016 qu’il débarque pour la première fois en France. Des spectacles de rodage présentés à guichets fermés au mythique Point-Virgule à Paris, puis d’une tournée préliminaire en province, Sugar Sammy lance officiellement son spectacle, écrit spécialement pour le public français, au théâtre l’Européen en mars 2017: le public est conquis, la presse est unanime. GQ France déclare même que « Le plus drôle des Français est Québécois ». Et, l’histoire de Sugar Sammy avec la France se prolonge à l’Alhambra de Paris passant du coup d'une audience de 350 à 600 spectateurs où il fait encore et toujours salle comble. Le “new king of comedy” - selon Quotidien, compte plus de 134 séances présentées en France à ce jour et se classe dans le Best of 2017 du Paris Match; du “grand art”, y lit-on. Pour l’humoriste, l’an 2018 amène une nouvelle tournée en province, un saut en Belgique et en Suisse, et un retour manifeste à Paris où il poursuit sa résidence à l’Alhambra jusqu’à la fin décembre.

L’histoire avec la France s’accroît encore. Entre les spectacles de sa tournée européenne, Sugar Sammy devient, à l’automne 2018, nouveau membre du jury de la 13e saison de La France a un incroyable talent, l’équivalent français de America’s Got Talent. Produite par Fremantle Media, l'une des plus grandes sociétés de télévision, de radio et de production en Europe, l’émission qui rejoint un auditoire de 3,5 millions personnes chaque semaine, est diffusée sur le réseau M6, l'un des plus importants réseaux français.

Avant de se lancer dans cette aventure, Sugar Sammy effectue à l'été 2018, un retour en Asie et se produit en Malaisie et à Singapour, prenant part pour l'occasion au tournage de la troisième saison de Comedy Central : Stand-Up, Asia!, émission spéciale diffusée dans 18 pays asiatiques. 

Ainsi se poursuit la conquête du monde pour Sugar Sammy. Fidèle à son style unique, partout où il passe, il ne laisse personne indifférent. L’ «Humoriste intrépide ayant le don de provoquer aussi bien le rire que le scandale», se voit par ailleurs lui être consacré par le New York Times, publication la plus prestigieuse au monde, un profil complet dans son édition du 11 août 2018. Un privilège que peu connaissent.

Sugar Sammy ne délaisse pour autant son public en sol québécois. Dans l’attente d’entreprendre la phase 2 de son aventure exceptionnelle qu’il a connu auparavant avec le Québec, il lance, le 1er mai 2018, les dvds de ses spectacles You’re Gonna Rire et En français svp!  Le lancement officiel se concrétise sur scène et dans une célébration intimiste avec plus de quelques 6500 fans venus à sa rencontre à Montréal, là où tout a commencé et explosé de façon inattendue quelques années plus tôt.  Les spectacles qui ont marqué le Québec, suscitant de nombreux débats tant dans les médias que dans le milieu politique, sont disponibles dorénavant sur dvd et en téléchargement.

LE PHÉNOMÈNE YOU’RE GONNA RIRE & EN FRANÇAIS SVP!

C’est en 2011, après avoir voyagé sur plusieurs continents avec ses spectacles en anglais dont Down with the Brown et Sugar Sammy Live in Concert, que Sugar Sammy lance à Montréal, sa ville natale, son spectacle bilingue You're Gonna Rire. S’ensuit rapidement la version 100% en français de ce spectacle : En français svp! qui voyage à travers la belle province. Un spectacle sans précédent, devenu véritable phénomène culturel, à l’origine d’une tournée des plus exceptionnelles. Un total de 421 représentations à guichets fermés, 372 000 billets vendus, faisant de lui l'artiste ayant vendu le plus de billets avec un premier one-man show dans toute l'histoire du Québec.

À elle seule, la dernière représentation du spectacle de tournée de Sugar Sammy donnée à Montréal, le 28 juillet 2016, a attiré une foule record de 115 000 personnes lors d’un Grand Événement Juste pour rire/Just For Laughs sur la réputée Place des Festivals. 

Cette tournée de Sugar Sammy l’a propulsé aux plus hauts sommets. Proclamée la tournée la plus lucrative au Canada, toutes catégories de spectacles confondues en 2013 par le prestigieux magazine Billboard, elle s'est hissée parmi les 30 tournées de spectacles les plus lucratives en Amérique du Nord.


S'ajoutent les récompenses: Sugar Sammy est aussi le premier humoriste anglophone à être couronné au prestigieux gala Les Olivier au Québec. En mai 2013, il remporte les trophées Meilleur spectacle et Humoriste de l'année.  Ainsi s’enchaînent les honneurs alors que l’année suivante on lui consacre de nouveau le titre d’Humoriste de l’année.


À LA CONQUÊTE DU MONDE

Simultanément avec la France, Sugar Sammy amorce une nouvelle tournée aux États-Unis en 2017. Une quarantaine de spectacles présentés au printemps et à l'été à San Jose, Seattle, Atlanta, Houston, Austin, Naples en Floride et New York. Une suite attendue de son retour chez les voisins du sud s’annonce à l’hiver 2019.

Se produisant en quatre langues, Sugar Sammy a la chance de visiter ses fans de partout à travers le monde. Il a donné des spectacles en Angleterre, Australie, Allemagne, Irlande, Hollande, Hong Kong, Thaïlande, Philippines, Chine, Inde, Bahreïn, Jordanie, Qatar, Égypte, Koweït, Émirats Arabes Unis, Liban, Singapour, Malaisie, Arabie Saoudite, Nouvelle-Zélande et Afrique du Sud, en plus du Canada et des États-Unis.

En reconnaissance de son talent unique et étendu, pour leur toute première série de spectacles jamais présentée en Inde, Comedy Central choisit Sugar Sammy pour effectuer une tournée, où il présente, en mars 2013, son spectacle en anglais-hindi-punjabi à Mumbai, à Bangalore et Delhi. 

LES FESTIVALS D’HUMOUR : ICI ET AILLEURS

Chouchou dans le circuit des prestigieux festivals d’humour, ses nombreux adeptes ont pu le voir au Festival Juste pour rire de Montréal, où il a été invité à maintes reprises, aux festivals de Sydney, Le Cap, Johannesburg, Melbourne, Auckland, Halifax, Winnipeg et aux festivals Grand Rire de Québec et ComediHa! 

En 2017, entre ses arrêts aux quatre coins du globe, Sugar Sammy entre au bercail en juillet et anime à guichets fermés, deux galas internationaux, réunissant les meilleurs humoristes du monde entier, lors de la 35e édition du festival Just For Laughs à Montréal.

À l’automne de la même année, arrive l’occasion de renouer avec le public canadien. Sugar Sammy anime la 17e tournée annuelle Just For Laughs, présentée sur les plus prestigieuses scènes à travers le Canada.


 

À L’ÉCRAN

Le succès que connaît Sugar Sammy sur scène s'étend davantage. Article le plus vendu dans la catégorie humour sur Amazon.ca pendant plus de cinq semaines consécutives, le tout premier DVD de Sugar Sammy, Sugar Sammy Live in Concert: Direct from Montreal, engendre encore des ventes plus qu’impressionnantes. Le spectacle tiré du DVD, longtemps au menu de la programmation sur les vols d’Air Canada et sur les ondes de The Comedy Network, a été le tout premier présenté par un humoriste canadien sur HBO Canada. À l’international, Showtime Arabia, The Comedy Channel, The Comedy Network, CTV et le réseau de télévision néerlandaise NTR font partie d’une impressionnante liste de chaînes de télévision ayant servi de vitrine à l’humour suave et charismatique de Sugar Sammy — sans compter les quelques vingt-trois millions de visionnements sur le web de ses clips d'impro.

La prochaine étape l'a naturellement vu conquérir le petit écran avec Ces gars-là, une sitcom créée, co-écrite et mettant en vedette Sugar Sammy. Une comédie moderne qui raconte les péripéties de deux amis aux origines totalement opposées. On explore des réflexions tant futiles que profondes mais toujours hilarantes à travers leurs expériences absurdes et leurs intentions plus ou moins nobles. Diffusée au Canada de 2014 à 2016, Ces gars-là est la seule série de télévision francophone ayant rejoint autant un public anglophone et ethnique. 

PARTENARIATS & PUBLICITÉS

Personnalité éminente et reconnue partout à travers le globe, Sugar Sammy attire des partenaires notoires. En 2014, Apple le choisit pour ses publicités télévisées en français au Canada. Puis en 2015, il est le porte-parole des Canadiens de Montréal avec une série de publicités télédiffusées à travers le monde qui vise à rassembler les partisans de l'équipe de hockey sur tous les continents. Avant, Sugar Sammy jouait le célèbre client mystère de Vidéotron pour la version anglophone d’une importante campagne de publicités télé et web au travers le Canada, laquelle a connu un succès inédit en 2011 et remporté plusieurs prix, dont celui de l’interprétation décerné à l’humoriste.

TOUJOURS PLUS LOIN

Sugar Sammy fait partie de cette nouvelle vague d’humoristes à l’humour accessible, dont le succès est planétaire. Le réputé Hollywood Reporter l'a nommé « un des 10 talents en humour à surveiller à travers le monde ». 

Sugar Sammy vit et embrasse la mondialisation. Il s’inspire de la diversité culturelle présente dans tous les grands centres urbains et la secoue. Provocateur intelligent et charismatique, Sugar Sammy est un maître de l’interaction avec les spectateurs. Son style relève de la plus pure tradition du stand-up américain. Avec charme et finesse, il dresse et commente un portrait décapant des contradictions inhérentes de notre société, selon la vision qu’il a de ses racines indiennes et de ses multiples voyages. Prochain arrêt : poursuivre sa conquête du monde, un rire à la fois!

Abonnez-vous à Sugarnation, la liste d’envoi pour les toutes dernières nouvelles et profitez d’un accès aux préventes exclusives de billets.

FR
facebook twitter instagram youtube itunes

Sugar Sammy Bio


One of the hottest comedians on the international circuit, Sugar Sammy has performed over 1,600 shows in 31 countries, in English, French, Hindi, and Punjabi.

In the fall of 2016, he made his debut in France, performing sold-out preview performances at Paris’ mythic Point-Virgule theatre. After a two-month preview tour  around France, he officially launched his new show, written specifically for French audiences, in March 2017 at Paris’ Théâtre l’Européen. Critics and the public alike were unanimous in their praise of the show.  GQ France even declared that “the funniest man in France is a Quebecer.” Sugar Sammy’s love affair with France continues at the Alhambra Theatre, selling out the 600-seater after initially conquering a 350-seat theatre. The “new king of comedy,” as he was crowned by the prestigious Quotidien TV show, has performed over 134 shows in France so far and was named the “Best of 2017” by Paris Match magazine, who referred to his show as “great art.” 2018 brings a new tour across France, a visit to Belgium and Switzerland, and a triumphant return to Paris as he continues his residency at the Alhambra until the end of December.

Sugar Sammy’s French connection has grown even stronger. In the fall of 2018, between legs of his European tour, he was chosen as a judge for the 13th season of La France a un incroyable talent, France’s answer to America’s Got Talent. Produced by Fremantle Media, one of Europe’s leading TV, radio and production companies, the show is watched by an audience of 3.5 million each week and broadcast on M6, one of France’s biggest networks.

Before embarking on this new adventure, in the summer of 2018 Sugar Sammy returned to Asia, appearing in Malaysia and Singapore, performing in the third season of Comedy Central: Stand-Up, Asia!, a comedy special aired in 18 Asian countries.

Sugar Sammy’s quest for global domination continues unabated. Remaining faithful to his unique style wherever he goes, he leaves no one indifferent. This “fearless comic with a talent for provoking both laughter and outrage” also received a rare honour when the world’s most prestigious newspaper, the New York Times, devoted an in-depth profile to him in its August 11, 2018, edition. A privilege bestowed on few performers.

For all his global success, Sugar Sammy has not forgotten his fans in Quebec. On May 1, 2018, in anticipation of beginning the next phase of his remarkable journey there, he released DVDs of his shows You’re Gonna Rire and En français svp! The official launch was marked by a live performance and an exclusive celebration with over 6,500 fans who came to meet Sugar Sammy in Montreal—the place where it all started for the comedian, and where he would enjoy massive and unexpected success. The legendary Quebec shows that provoked numerous debates in both the media and the political milieu are now available on DVD or by download.

THE YOU’RE GONNA RIRE & EN FRANÇAIS SVP! PHENOMENON

The comedian first made a name for himself in 2011, after touring his English-language shows, Down with the Brown and Sugar Sammy Live in Concert, across several continents, before debuting his bilingual show, You’re Gonna Rire, in his home town of Montreal. This was soon followed by a 100%-French version of the show, En français svp! which played at venues across the province. The unprecedented success of this groundbreaking show made it a cultural phenomenon. A total of 421 sold-out performances—and 372,000 tickets later—it became the best-selling debut one-man show in Quebec’s history.

The final performance of Sugar Sammy’s tour alone drew a record 115,000 fans to an outdoor show presented at Montreal’s renowned Place des Festivals as part of the Just For Laughs festival on July 28, 2016.

This tour took Sugar Sammy’s career to new heights, with prestigious Billboard magazine declaring it the top-selling Canadian tour in 2013, across all categories, and one of the 30th highest-grossing tours in North America.


The awards would follow. Sugar Sammy became the first English-language comedian to be honoured at Quebec’s prestigious Olivier comedy awards, winning the Olivier for Best Show and Comedian of the Year in May 2013. More honours were to come, with Sugar Sammy once again receiving the title of Comedian of the Year in 2014.


THE QUEST FOR GLOBAL DOMINATION

In the midst of all his shows in France, Sugar Sammy also visited the U.S. on a 40-show tour in spring/summer 2017, visiting San Jose, Seattle, Atlanta, Houston, Austin, Naples (FL) and New York. He’ll make a highly-anticipated return south of the border in the winter of 2019. 

Working in four languages has afforded Sugar Sammy the opportunity to travel the world and perform for his devoted fans in countries far and wide, including England, Australia, Germany, Ireland, Holland, Hong Kong, Thailand, the Philippines, China, India, Bahrain, Jordan, Qatar, Egypt, Kuwait, Abu Dhabi, Lebanon, Singapore, Malaysia, Saudi Arabia, Dubai, New Zealand and South Africa, not to mention Canada and the United States.

In recognition of his talent and multilingualism, he was the first artist ever chosen by Comedy Central India to tour their country, visiting Mumbai, Bangalore and Delhi in March 2013 with his English/Hindi/Punjabi comedy show. 

COMEDY FESTIVALS: AT HOME AND ABROAD

A favourite on the high-profile comedy festival circuit, Sugar Sammy’s many fans have been able to see him at Montreal’s Just For Laughs Festival, to which he has been invited numerous times, at the Sydney, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Melbourne, Auckland, Halifax and Winnipeg festivals, and at the Grand Rire and ComediHa! festivals in Quebec City.

In July 2017, Sugar Sammy took time out from travelling the world and returned to his home turf of Montreal, where he hosted two sold-out international galas featuring the world’s leading comedians at the 35th edition of Just For Laughs.

In the fall of the same year, Sugar Sammy had the opportunity to re-connect with Canadian audiences. He hosted the 17th edition of the annual Just For Laughs Canadian Comedy Tour, with stops at some of Canada’s leading venues.




 
ON SCREEN

Sugar Sammy’s success transcends the stage. The comedian’s first-ever DVD, Sugar Sammy Live in Concert: Direct from Montreal, was the top-selling comedy title on Amazon.ca for five straight weeks and continues to post highly impressive sales. The concert featured on the DVD, a long-time staple of Air Canada’s in-flight entertainment programming and The Comedy Network, was the first special starring a Canadian stand-up on HBO Canada. Internationally, an impressive list of TV networks have provided showcases for Sugar Sammy’s smooth-talking, charismatic humour, including Showtime Arabia, The Comedy Channel, CTV and Dutch network NTR — not to mention 23 million views for his online stand-up videos.

The next step for the comedian saw him branching out and conquering the small screen with Ces gars-là, a sitcom created, co-written and starring Sugar Sammy. This modern buddy comedy takes you into the world of two friends, whose intrinsic differences colour their friendship and create a variety of adventures for the odd couple, who find themselves navigating absurd situations with more or less noble intentions. The series, which was broadcast in Canada from 2014 to 2016, was the first French-language TV series in Quebec to be as popular with anglophone and ethnic viewers as it was with francophones.


PARTNERSHIPS & ADS

As a prominent figure with global appeal, Sugar Sammy has attracted the interest of world-renowned partners. In 2014, Apple chose him to perform in their TV ads in French Canada, and in 2015, he became the Montreal Canadiens’ spokesperson in a series of international ads intended to unite the hockey team’s fans across the globe. Sugar Sammy previously played the part of a celebrity prank caller in the English version of a major national TV and web advertising campaign for Videotron in 2011. The campaign was a tremendous success, winning several awards—including an acting prize for the comedian.

GETTING TO KNOW SUGAR SAMMY

Sugar Sammy belongs to a new breed of accessible comics who have enjoyed success at the global level. The highly-respected Hollywood Reporter selected him as one of their “Ten Comics to Watch” around the world.

Sugar Sammy lives and embraces globalization, stirring up and sampling the multi-cultural melting pot that exists in most urban centres today. A smart and charismatic provocateur, he’s a master at interacting with audiences in a style recalling the greats of traditional American stand-up. He presents hilarious scenarios and comments on our global society’s inherent contradictions in a brilliantly entertaining way, sharing his views of his Indian roots and world travels.

Next stop: global domination—one laugh at a time!

Subscribe to Sugarnation and join his mailing list for all the latest news and priority ticket access for upcoming shows.